Change of plans

Change of plans

I’m sitting in a hotel in Hiawasee GA right now, I have decided it’s time to go home for a bit. I could tell you it’s because I fell and hurt my left side, I could tell you it’s because I have a minor infection, I could tell you it’s because I’ve been sick everyday since I got here but all of those things are only minor factors in my decision to go home. At the end of the day I’m going home because this isn’t what I expected. Right before I left my mom said that I should have fun, ever since I hiked in Spain that has been my mom’s advice! Frankly hiking the AT has been the farthest things from fun! My plan is to go home, stay for a few days, see a doctor about the not being able to breathe thing, then get my car and head back down here. I plan on putting together a series of day hikes through the highlights of the AT. Go see my sister and explore the east coast while providing a little trail magic to other hikers. I have been here for just over a week and I have found out that I thrive on structure and control and the AT has zero structure!! I haven’t felt this out of control since I was in college and that is a very scary place to be for me. Some people find freedom in hiking I found an endless pit of scary places. I truly enjoyed my training to get to this point and I want to have fun like that again, and I think the solution is to give up the idea that I need to hike the AT like everyone else or every inch of it. I’m looking forward to many things and I know people will say it’s better if you hiked to it but I don’t think that with how clouded my head was anything could be pretty if I hiked the whole way there. I am finally at peace with my decision and hopefully will book my bus home tomorrow. 
One thought on “Change of plans

  1. Kayla, I am saddened to read that you are going home But then I read “for a bit” and I smiled. I’ve been home for a bit myself. I am proud of you for all you have done to get to where you are. You have done more than most of the population and should walk tall with that.
    Hugs, hoba

Leave a Reply

