Day 457 (02.10.15) 29 days to Leaving

Today I got some awesome news, I got my leave of absence approved!! My absence is for 6 months exactly so that doesn’t leave me much room for any major delays on my hike but I will have a job when I get back.  I’ve been thinking a lot lately about my privilege and this only makes me think about it more.  Because of the generosity of people in my life and being able to knit I can almost afford to hike and with my next few checks and a couple last minute knitting projects.  I have been able to travel to different places in the state to train and hike. I just can’t believe that it’s actually working out, everything is falling into place.  I just can’t believe that in 29 days I’m getting on a bus, at this point I’m more worried about the bus ride then I am about hiking for 6 months.  I’m afraid that I’ll miss my only connection or even my first bus.  I’m afraid I’ll get off at a stop and not get back on in time and be stranded somewhere.  I’m an organized person so I think I will be ok, I’ve just never traveled by bus before.  Also my Bedrock sandals came today! I’ll be testing them out on the trail and inside for not because we had a ice/snow storm this morning so wearing them outside isn’t an option just yet. 🙂

Leave a Reply

