Day 88 (02.06.14) Feeling great

  1. Get moving: Today I burned 1,908 calories. I walked 2.40 miles on the treadmill and biked 5.3 miles.
  2. Cutting Calories: I consumed 1,312 calories
  3. Saving money ($5,000):$170.80
  4. Cut fat Percentage to less than 15%: Today it was at 16% which isn’t bad at all considering how bad it has gotten in the past!

Today was a good day overall mostly consumed fresh fruits and veggies. Which are great, but I’m officially out and I won’t get paid until Monday so I think my fat percentages will be higher until I can get to the store on Monday.  Mostly things today were good.  I am going to break down and buy a scale because today I was in the building with the scale and weighed myself again and it showed a 4 pound loss since yesterday, time of day really matters I think.  As it stands right now I weigh in based on my work schedule and I would much rather weigh in at the same time and day each week.  If you’ve never weighed more than 280 then you might not realize this but to get a scale that goes over 280 is expensive and not always easy.  To get one that goes over 350 (next increment is 400) is almost $40.  That is just to much for me!! Right now I can get a scale that goes to 350, this is super exciting, so it will cost about $20.  Loosing weight does pay!! :)

A.T. I keep listening to amazing podcast and reading Bill Bryson’s book “A walk in the Woods” I cannot wait to start hiking.  So much so that I think I may have alarmed Katey (my hiking partner) tonight by texting her all kinds of things wanting to plan, this I know should be done in person but I’m just so excited I can’t contain myself.  If we could afford it we would probably leave in March but alas we can’t.  Once I get my tax returns back I think I’m going to by gear so I can start hiking with my full pack.  I have decided that with the little extra I am making I’m going to put aside everything that is above what I use to make, this should help.  At this point I have lost over 60 pounds a little thing like money isn’t going to stop me from hiking the A.T. (ok so maybe it will)! Right now a few people have pledged to give me money for every pound I loose and Katey said tonight she is going to put money aside for everyday she works out for more than an hour.  I need to come up with something to help save money as well.  A fellow hiker and blogger suggested $10/day but that is to much for me although it would reach my goal by the time we left, so really that is what it will work out to be.  I feel the need to start organizing!! Tomorrow I work all day so I will start this weekend.  :)

4 thoughts on “Day 88 (02.06.14) Feeling great

  1. I did suggest $10/day BUT I like the $5/day better to start. The $10 will seem out of reach and won’t get done. The $5 is doable. The FIRST thing you do when you get paid is take the $35 for that week and put it into your AT account. Every week. Before you do anything else. At the end of the week somehow your bills will be paid and you will be broke BUT your AT account will have $35 in it. Somebody smarter than me many years back called this “pay yourself first” I didn’t follow this advice all of the time, I did some of the time and because I did, I have a Retirement account that I am tapping to fund my hike. IF I had followed this advice all of the time I would be able to hire Sherpas to carry myself and my pack on the AT. Give it a shot, if it doesn’t work you take the $35 back. It will work.

Leave a Reply

